The artist in us all

Once upon a time, a frustrated former social work student wanted to change career paths and become a graphic designer. Then I realized that much like interior design, I love the medium, but I think I would rather spend my time appreciating the work of others than being on a mortgage-dependent timetable for creating my own visual masterworks.

The ability to take classes in graphic design while studying at Meredith was such a fabulous opportunity. When else in my life would I get to learn these things, get feedback from instructors that truly now their stuff (that are exceptionally gracious to the learning curve of the “non-art major”) and test the field to see if this may become a suitable plan ‘B’ for my career?

The goal of this project is basically to tinker around with a tee-shirt design for a fictional AIGA fundraiser. Both images contain the same message, delivered with different quirks.

-lc

Leave a Reply

